Fix Zune 30GB First Gen Freeze Error problem screen

Zune 30gb Yesterday 30-gigabyte Zunes suffered a crippling glitch causing the digital music players to lock up, reboot themselves, and freeze. The problem was caused by the Zune’s internal clock and its inability to handle leap years, according to Microsoft. Microsoft posted instructions on its support site Zune.net/support on how to thaw your Zune from its deep freeze and get it working again.

The Zune fix (outlined below) will work at 7am ET January 1, 2009. Microsoft says it will also issue a fix for the device so that this problem won’t re-occur the next leap year, in 2012.

To Fix Your Zune Follow These Steps:

  1. Disconnect your Zune from USB and AC power sources.
  2. Because the player is frozen, its battery will drain-this is good. Wait until the battery is empty and the screen goes black. If the battery was fully charged, this might take a couple of hours.
  3. Wait until after noon GMT on January 1, 2009 (that’s 7 a.m. Eastern or 4 a.m. Pacific time).
  4. Connect your Zune to either a USB port on the back or your computer or to AC power using the Zune AC Adapter and let it charge.
  5. Once the battery has sufficient power, the player should start normally. No other action is required-you can go back to using your Zune!

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply